Where I’m From

By Julia Doolan

 

I am from the gears switching as I race down the hill going all the way around town till it’s dark.

I’m from waking up at the crack of dawn to go see my cousins at my ma’s, we play, we fight, we race, we cry but we love each other great.

From dancing with my friends to karate kicking with my sister. Little blurs speeding my rod reeling in as fast as I can but realise I must put another bait on.

I am from the smell of dough everywhere, as I flip it up in the air. It goes everywhere, my dad looks at me with despair, I mash the potatoes while dad folds the edges, we finish we fry, and it tasted great.

I am from the smell of wet hay around me as I scoop the grain against the bucket while the rain fills my boots, neighs to moos to barking I’ve dealt with it all

I am from the feeling of the sand in my shoes as I yell grounders to my friends, the red and yellow playground shakes as we jump around. Our parents staring making sure we don’t hurt ourselves.

I am from the diamond, Taylor pitching, Morgan swinging, me running, watching each other while we finish the game. Sharing snacks pouring water on our head laying in the grass while the team shakes hands.

I’m from words with my Omi but my sister can’t understand me, my mom’s proud of me and the words I can speak. I’m proud of my history and where my family brought me, I wish I could visit where my mom’s side came from.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *